Here are recipes 4 & 5 for hitting our goal!!

My absolute favorite holiday cookie. Ask my mom. I used to eat all of them before we could set them out for guests.

Candy Cane Sugar Cookies
2 1/3 cups all-purpose GF flour mix + xanthan gum
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 cup Earth Balance (slightly softened)
1/2 cup veg. shortening
1 cup sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon peppermint extract
red food dye
1/4 cup soymilk (vanilla)

Whisk together flour, cornstarch, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl; set aside.

Using a mixer, beat margarine, shortening, and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in vanilla and soy milk to combine. Mix on low and gradually add flower mixture, mix until forms a soft dough.

Divide into dough into 2 halves. Add Red food coloring and peppermint to one of the halves. Wrap each half in plastic and chill for several hours or overnight.

Let dough get closer to room temperature. Preheat oven to 350. Line baking pans with parchment. Roll doughs into snakes on a floured surface. Form into candy cane shapes. Place on baking sheets, bake for 8-10 minutes or until golden around the edges. Remove from oven and let them cool on baking sheets for 5 minutes before using a spatula to transfer to cooling racks.

This is a recipe I got from Martha Stewart’s holiday cookie deal. I wanted a Girl Scout Thin Mint so bad, so when I saw her recipe I was certain I could tweak it so that I could finally enjoy them again. I hope you do to!

“Thin Mints”
1 cup all-purpose GF flour mix
1/2 cup unsweetened baking cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon plus 1/8 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons Earth Balance (at room temp.)
1/2 cup sugar
1/3 cup applesauce
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
12 oz. chocolate (semisweet or bittersweet) chopped
1/4 teaspoon pure peppermint extract
sprinkles (optional for decoration)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Whisk together flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl; set aside.

Using a mixer, beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in applesauce and vanilla. Mix on low and gradually add flower mixture, mix until just combined.

Form balls of dough (each equal to 1 teaspoon) and place on two baking sheets about 2 inches apart. Dip the bottom of a glass in water and flatten balls into 1 1/2 inch rounds (about 1/4 inch thick). Bake until slightly firm to the touch, 8-10 minutes, rotating sheets halfway through. Immediately transfer cookies to wire rack to cool completely.

Make chocolate coating: Place chocolate, peppermint, and the remaining 1/8 teaspoon salt in a large heat proof bowl set over (not in) a saucepan of simmering water. Heat stirring occasionally until smooth, 2-3 minutes. Remove from the heat.

Line a baking sheet with parchment or waxed paper. Set each cookie on the tines of a fork, immerse in chocolate then tap the underside of the fork on the side of the bowl to remove excess chocolate. Place dipped cookies on prepared baking sheet, add sprinkles if desired. Refrigerate until chocolate has hardened about 30 minutes. Keep chilled until ready to serve.

About gfgreatplains

Hello. My name is Amanda. I'm one year gluten free, and can honestly say it's been a long time since I felt this good. This change was not by choice. When I first had the suspicion I needed to switch, I was so upset. You see, I LOVE to bake. I bake bread. I bake cupcakes. When the holidays roll around, I bake cookies like a fiend. I thought I would have to give all that up, and well, I really didn't want that to happen. But then I started researching and shopping and realized that I wouldn't be missing out on all that much. As it turns out, some of my already favorite foods are already Gluten Free! So when a doctor told me I needed to make the big change, I wasn't nearly as upset as expected. In fact, I was motivated. This was my new challenge. I'd been baking vegan for a while already, so Gluten Free should be no problem. My goal is to make (and photograph, as that is my another love) delicious Gluten Free goodies that EVERYONE, even those who can still have gluten can enjoy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Here are recipes 4 & 5 for hitting our goal!!

  1. If only there was a way to make a Thin Mint without chocolate… 😉 lol. These recipes sound great, thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

