Beer Me, baby

After a whole year (maybe more) without beer, I decided I was ready to give one a try. Lucky me, our local grocer just happened to get in a new brand. I picked up New Planet’s Gluten Free 3R Raspberry Ale.

It. Is. So. Good.

I’ll admit, I was never a big beer drinker, although I had a few favorites, but this is crazy delicious (and has inspired a potential new cupcake flavor).

I have held off on trying GFree beer, terrified by what awful, evil taste would be lurking inside that dark brown bottle. Plus, I hadn’t heard anything good about a gluten free brew. Recently I had been dreaming of an apricot ale I used to drink, so when I saw the Raspberry Ale featured on an end cap at the market, I knew. It was time to put on my big girl pants, and drink a beer.

Like I said earlier, I’ve never been a big beer drinker. But this beer is very drinkable. It’s smooth with a soft but pronounced fruity finish. Perfect for this August weather.

New Planet has 3 gluten free beers to choose from: Tread Lightly Ale, 3R Raspberry Ale, and Off Grid Pale Ale. Imagine, gluten free choices!! And reasonably priced, too!

On top of making delicious brews, New Planet also cares about Planet Earth. This company donates a portion of the profits from their beer to help their community. Be still my heart! They are practically neighbors too, being based in Boulder, CO.

Check out their website, which talks more about the causes they donate to. If you go out and try it, post here and let us know what you thought about it!

New Planet GF Beer

Also on their website they ask for what flavors folks want them to make next. I sent an email begging for a pumpkin spice beer (again with the fall flavors!). You folks should let them know what you want to taste next!

Tah-tah for now! (That second bottle of 3R is calling to me!)

Gluten Free in the Great Plains

P.S. Our Kickstarter.com page should be up and moving next week! Thanks for reading!

About gfgreatplains

Hello. My name is Amanda. I'm one year gluten free, and can honestly say it's been a long time since I felt this good. This change was not by choice. When I first had the suspicion I needed to switch, I was so upset. You see, I LOVE to bake. I bake bread. I bake cupcakes. When the holidays roll around, I bake cookies like a fiend. I thought I would have to give all that up, and well, I really didn't want that to happen. But then I started researching and shopping and realized that I wouldn't be missing out on all that much. As it turns out, some of my already favorite foods are already Gluten Free! So when a doctor told me I needed to make the big change, I wasn't nearly as upset as expected. In fact, I was motivated. This was my new challenge. I'd been baking vegan for a while already, so Gluten Free should be no problem. My goal is to make (and photograph, as that is my another love) delicious Gluten Free goodies that EVERYONE, even those who can still have gluten can enjoy.
This entry was posted in things i've tried. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

